top of page
Search

Minecraft - the online experience

My first experiences with Minecraft came when a friend gave me a cracked version of the game on a flash drive, which enabled me to play single player, but not multiplayer. I played and wandered around my single player world for a long time, but began to get bored with my un-creative, square houses that all looked the same. I wanted to see the full potential of the game and decided to buy the full version. When I got the legit version, I was able to play on online servers, which completely changed how I played and viewed Minecraft. I got to see so many different servers, all so different and uniquely incredible. The main game mode I played was Factions, a game where you form teams, called factions, and try to dominate all other factions on the server.


What was so great about playing Minecraft on servers was just how many different things people create. With a game like Minecraft, there are almost no boundaries on what you can do – just your creativity. Some servers had replicated full console games in Minecraft (like Portal), while others created brand new games. Minecraft servers opened this very casual, creative game, to a whole new realm of possibilities, pushing the boundaries of what a game can be. One of the great things about playing online is that the player has the choice of what kind of experience they want to have – whether they want a totally foreign experience that is far removed from vanilla Minecraft, or they want a very standard Minecraft experience. That's what made this game so special - the fact that the player never has to leave to have different types of experiences. The mechanics of the game made this possible, and made it hard to leave. This realm of endless possibility was great for me as a kid, where I got to experience a wide variety of game types, but this also inherently lacks some of the benefits of actual console or PC games, in terms of graphics, gameplay mechanics, and story. Still, though, Minecraft is a one-of-a-kind game.



One of my first single-player houses

28 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Competitive Failing

Blizzard's Hearthstone is a virtual cardgame developed by Blizzard interactive. In the game, each player plays as a class of hero from the MMO World of Warcraft and battle with cards corresponding to

bottom of page