top of page
Search

Generational Learning

While playing through One Hour One Life's tutorial I was frustrated and confused with the mechanics of how crafting and harvesting is handled. The index system is obtuse and I was almost ready to quit and take thirty minutes to read the wiki. I'm glad that I held back on this decision as it enriched my first few lives where the players shared their knowledge with me just as a parent would help their own child. I quickly picked up on how to cook eggs on a stone so I spent my entire childhood running around and cooking eggs. My career did not last long as I found my character's skin turn to a sickly yellow and I died soon after, anyway that's why I hate mosquitoes. While not as eventful my further playthroughs of the game helped me further appreciate the obscure rules to the game. In order to make it far in the world you'd have to learn these mechanics from either a wiki or from another player, that way it is ensured that the players who live long enough to be parents will already know something about the game. So all new players are given a tutor who helps them learn the game. While I don't want to contribute to the overuse of the word gamification, I do feel like this game is a great adaptation of the history of humans. A group of lost and confused people who teach their young all they know so that they may survive so that we can slowly build up a self-sufficient society. This also makes the mechanic of death much more interesting as the player preserves their knowledge through different lives even if this presents an interesting take on reincarnation. Because of this games focus on rebirth and teaching younger players I think that this will be the first survival game that I will not research before I play it thoroughly.

30 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Competitive Failing

Blizzard's Hearthstone is a virtual cardgame developed by Blizzard interactive. In the game, each player plays as a class of hero from the MMO World of Warcraft and battle with cards corresponding to

bottom of page