top of page
Search

Final Project words

Now that we are all likely well into working on our final project, whether that be a game or an abstract, we are experiencing the difficulties of creating for an audience and pleasing the consumers of our work. I think it would be interesting to talk about some of the feedback I received in my discussion section this week. My group is creating a text adventure in Twine (but I wont spoil the story yet) consisting of about 3/4 days of decision making. The first thing I encountered was basically whether to conform to the trope of similar works in media in the past. If the story shared elements with a previous comedy or drama, how would it work if the audience members' expectations were subverted from that. Because we have a limited time to make the game, certain liberties have to be taken with what we can and cannot include, and that meant sacrifices in regards to that idea. The question became if we could successfully, match those subversions so as to give our audience a recognition and feeling of comfort all while still conveying the overall message of the game that we wanted in the first place. The second piece of feedback I responded to was how to balance the impact of decisions on an individual level while keeping every one as meaningful as we wanted and still conveying the message of the game as a whole. These are just some quick issues, my group and I have had to balance while writing the script, but I think it's coming along nicely. I'd love to hear how other projects are going besides the ones I heard about in my discussion.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Competitive Failing

Blizzard's Hearthstone is a virtual cardgame developed by Blizzard interactive. In the game, each player plays as a class of hero from the MMO World of Warcraft and battle with cards corresponding to

bottom of page