top of page
Search

Cooperation is Necessary

After starting One Hour, One Life, I found myself initially confused. Who are all these people around me? Why am I a baby? Why is everyone doing so much around me? As I continued to play and grow up in the game, I realized that everyone around me was another real player. I was amazed at this network. Many online multiplayer games where there is very little guidance and chat options encourage trolling and sabotage. In my playthroughs, there was much cooperation between players with good communication. It worked so well that I thought the other players were AI initially. This cooperation with the game can especially be seen when you are born into the game. As a baby, you are completely vulnerable and unable to feed yourself. Your mother or a woman character must feed you until you grow up more. The other players aren't required to help you survive and play the game. But, they do help because it means that their hard work building civilization during their life will continue through a new player. I didn't think a game like this could work so well! Why do other video games attract trolls and ruin other players' experiences?


I wonder if the reach of this game is why this model works. As games become more popular and mainstream, they gain a large audience of gamers. I think if this game gained a lot more players, more problems would arise concerning cooperation. Many of the large and popular online multiplayer games like Minecraft and COD have many trolls and bad sportsmanship between players. I guess the difference is these games the game doesn't exactly break because of trolling. One Hour, One Life would break from trolls because the game depends on cooperation to continue being the game. It wouldn't be at it full potential. It is the core of the game and I think even players who are tempted to be trolls can see that.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Competitive Failing

Blizzard's Hearthstone is a virtual cardgame developed by Blizzard interactive. In the game, each player plays as a class of hero from the MMO World of Warcraft and battle with cards corresponding to

bottom of page