top of page

Her Story: An Interactive Movie

Her story was one of the more interesting video games I've ever played and I'm not even sure if calling it a "video game" is appropriate. All I did was watch some clips, interpret them, and then look up new clips. That's literally just how youtube works. The "mechanics" seem extremely simple and not inherently fun, yet it somehow works within the context of the game.


The clips themselves are pretty good pieces of film. There is generally not much visual variety except for clothing changes (though when she busted out the guitar I was pretty surprised), but the acting is amazing. The most interesting part of the content is the narrative. The story reminds me of a Christopher Nolan movie with how it starts off pretty innocently and then as you piece together more and more of the story you come across unexpected twists and turns and slowly realize that this woman is insane and everything you thought you knew about her and her "sister's" past may be completely fabricated.


This is where the mechanics come into play, my experience with the narrative is magnified by the fact that I am the one putting all the clips together. By involving me, the player, in the process of putting together this cryptic and disjointed story by forcing me to manually look up the clips instead of just playing them in some predefined order a la Pulp Fiction, I am more connected with the game's content.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page